7.52x54R Ammunition Availability

August 12, 2015

Since I know a lot of folks are a bit unhinged (like yours truly) and follow many Mosin-related pages, this might be repetitive… but for the sake of those fortunate individuals who follow only a few groups, this might be a good discussion:

Embargo.

This dirty word comes up from time to time when the topic of 7.62×54 and other Soviet-era military surplus ammunition comes up. It is usually accompanied with a Chicken Little-esque warning to “buy all you can before there is none…” or dismissive comments about how this is just a fear tactic distributors are using to increase their profit margin for the pallets upon pallets sitting idle in their warehouses. After all, why sell at $199/can when you can freak people out enough into $150/can and so on…?

Now, I am skeptical for the information found on most… ok, ALL forums. As Henry Rollins has said: “knowledge without mileage is BS”, and since I have no way of verifying anything on those forums other than date posted I thought I’d ask if anyone has seen hard evidence about these sanctions.

So far, the only thing I have found is not good: Executive Order 13662 is a large document with all sorts of addendums and actions (requiring three separate window and about 15 tabs per window…overkill, I know, but I burrow when I get involved in research), but the meat and potatoes as far as *we* are concerned is this paragraph:
“Treasury today has also designated and blocked the assets of Almaz-Antey… Kalashnikov Concern…. pursuant to E.O. 13661 for operating in the arms or related materiel sector in the Russian Federation. The designated firms are responsible for the production of a range of materiel, from small arms to mortar shells to tanks. As a result of today’s action under E.O. 13661, any assets of the entities designated that are within U.S. jurisdiction must be frozen. In addition, transactions by U.S. persons or within the United States involving the entities designated today under E.O. 13661 are generally prohibited.

So… what does this mean for collectors of Mosin Nagants?

I dunno. Still burrowing… However, it is a nice day and I think I may go and admire more transitional ballistic art, so I shall post this to see what feedback I will get.

Leave a Reply

